Fathom Money

The other day, a coworker finally paid me for girl scout cookies she brought a while back. Since all money was due a month ago, I had paid for these cookies with my own money. Every year it seems like someone forgets to pay me, so I chalked it up to a loss. Anyways, I found myself with an “extra” $16 in cash. Today I found myself at McDonald’s again. Had I not had this money, I probably would haven’t stopped. But with a coupon, I ended up spending $3.80 on a value meal which my kids split. The danger with me and cash is that I always feel like it doesn’t have a job, so I seem to spend it on random items. I also had to pay for my daughter’s end of the year medal for baseball which was another $6. I was happy to have the cash on hand to pay for this. Getting this money started me thinking about all the extra money that may or may not come in from reimbursements or returns this month. In rank order of how certain I feel that I will get this money, here are the possibilities:

  • $65 – Husband returned some shoes; just waiting for the credit to appear on our credit card statement
  • $40 – Husband claims he brought items for work which they will reimburse him
  • $100 – Husband received a raise that will be reflected on his 4/15 paycheck; I calculated that it should be around $100 but I could be way off. (Long-term plan is to increase his 401K contributions by this amount since he’s not maxed out yet)
  • $550 – Husband is supposed to get reimbursed for travel expenses. Since this isn’t through work, I don’t know when or if we will see this entire amount or any actually.
  • $250 – Mother-in-law told me she would be putting a check in the mail last week; I’m skeptical about this also.

As I typed all that, I noticed the main person who seems to be responsible for having people owe us money is my darling husband! No judgement, just an observation. Overall, if we get all of it, that would be about $1,000. I haven’t added any of this into our budget for the month. Since this is a very tight month for us, it would be really helpful if even 1/2 of it came through. How do you deal with budgeting and random unreliable sources of money?

One thought on “Fathom Money

  1. I wait until the cash is in my hands (or check in the bank). My monthly budget relies on my reliable income. All the rest is a bonus. Typically bonuses are used to bump up a few main categories if need be (like fuel or groceries) the rest is put into various savings (one month buffer, emergency fund, vehicle repair, christmas, etc).

Leave a Reply

